In the beginning (Days 1 & 2)

Just want to say that I’m really happy I made this decision! I’ve been teetering on the edge of being vegan for so long now, it feels good to take the plunge.

So, in these first few days, I am still working through a few of the last dairy products in the fridge: some Nancy’s cottage cheese, some Tillamook yogurt, some low fat Organic Valley mozzarella. I’m sure a few other things will pop up. But, I certainly don’t want to waste these things, so I’ll keep them around until they’re gone.

Day One:

Breakfast~
Old-fashioned oats and natural applesauce
Leftover vegan tofu quiche

Lunch~
Zucchini and Beanballs
Note: I kept my zucchini raw, and “spiralized” them into noodles.

Dinner~
Kabocha Squash
Go Lean Bar (a leftover I can’t waste, which contains milk chocolate)

Snack~
“Taste Tests” of my Homemade Granola (altered from this recipe)

Day Two:

Breakfast~
Raw Protein Vegan Meal Powder with Frozen Banana
Note: This protein drink is amazing! 26 superfoods from raw organic seeds, sprouts and greens, 34 grams of protein, 9 grams of fiber, and at least 100% of the daily value of 16 key nutrients. Vegan, Raw, gluten-free, dairy-free and lactose-free, with no fillers, no synthetic nutrients, no artificial sweeteners and no preservatives. Bonus: it tastes like a frosty.

Snack~
Asian Pear
Nancy’s cultured low-fat cottage cheese (a leftover I can’t waste)

Lunch~
Jamba Juice Workout Berry Protein Smoothie with Soy
Fresh Steamed Asparagus

Dinner~
Quinoa, with vegan butter and pepper
Homemade Skinny Detox Soup
Note: I can’t wait to make this soup again! I made it last week, and have been thinking about it ever since… leeks, pinquitos, tomato, carrot, celery, chard… yum!

I feel like my body is thanking me already… Just by having to plan out my meals, I’m eating healthier. And, because I’m planning ahead, I’m saving time in the long run. Now I have eight servings of amazing homemade granola sitting in my cupboard.

image

So, how am I doing nutritionally? Thanks to MyFitnessPal, I can track my calories and nutrition!

Today, let’s look at protein. According to the Vegetarian Resource Group, in their article Protein in the Vegan Diet, a vegan body needs 0.45 grams of protein per pound. For me personally, rounding up numbers for easy math, that comes out to 60 grams of protein needed daily. How many did I get today? 100 grams. Woot! I’ll take that extra protein because I’m currently working on building more lean muscle and toning up :)

Side-note that I need to research: Many of the things I know I’ll want to eat regularly, have a lot of (natural) sugar in them: fresh fruit, fruit and vegetable smoothies, squashes, carrots, etc. Those are all great foods, so I’ll just need to keep an eye on that as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

