Health Food Stores are Awesome (Day 3)

Living in little ol’ town like Dallas, Oregon, I realize that my local grocery stores do not offer all the great vegetarian and vegan components used for many recipes and daily dietary needs. Safeway is better than most, but is lacking in certain things… chia seeds, quinoa, dairy-free yogurts, (good) dairy-free cheeses, spelt flour, Blue Diamond coconut almond milk, miso base, I could go on. But, because I can’t always drive to Salem for a real health food store, I am totally used to learning how to make the best of what I can with what I have.

However, I made a special trip yesterday to visit Lifesource! I know it sounds silly, but it’s always a treat. I freaking love Lifesource. I spent an hour in there, just looking at so many vegan options, comparing labels and nutrients and protein and vitamins, and checking for needed ingredients included in future recipes I want to try. Did you know Tofurky makes totally vegan frozen pizzas now? Or that there is soy yogurt, coconut yogurt, and almond yogurt? Same goes for ice cream! Thank you, Lifesource, for just being awesome~

I should note that, in order to not get overwhelmed (and reliant) on dairy-free alternatives like vegan yogurt, cheese, ice cream, sour cream, and all that other good stuff, I decided to limit myself to purchasing only one at a time. I figured, this will encourage me to keep up my creative vegan cooking, and not just get stuck in an easy rut of living on the packaged “alternatives”.

Everything in moderation :)

Day Three:
Not a lot of time for cooking today… my first super busy work day as a vegan. Fortunately, I have great leftover soup for lunch! And, not to brag, but the homemade granola is some of the best granola I’ve ever had in my life! Holy cow. Don’t know how long that will last in the cupboard ;)

Breakfast~
Pom-Berry-Banana Smoothie with chard & Raw Protein Powder
Nancy’s cultured low-fat Cottage Cheese (the last of it)

Lunch~
Leftover Homemade Skinny Detox Soup
Homemade Granola (altered from this recipe)

Dinner~
1/2 Raw Protein Vegan Meal Powder
Leftover Quinoa with Kabocha Squash

Snack~
Soy Yogurt

In looking at my nutrients for today, I just barely topped my needed 60 grams of protein, coming in at 65 grams. However, I got in tons of antioxidants (and raw foods) in my breakfast smoothie, and tons of vitamins and nutrients (and more raw foods) in my dinner smoothie. I don’t typically intend to eat two smoothies in a day, simply because I really like the satisfaction of chewing things… but these smoothies are delicious, wholesome, and do not leave me feeling hungry or unsatisfied.

image

Tomorrow looks to be a good day spent cooking, so I’ll get to try another new recipe (or two!). I hope to get some meals made ahead for the next few days, while working from home tomorrow. You know, this vegan thing isn’t so tough. And I feel great!

2 thoughts on “Health Food Stores are Awesome (Day 3)

    • Thanks Tracy! I love Amazon, thanks for the tip :) I do try to support local shops whenever I can, and fortunately, I heard that Trader Joe’s has chia seeds! The way I look at it, if people are regularly buying the vegan products or the cruelty-free products at local stores, they’ll be encouraged to continue carrying them, and may even add more variety~

Leave a Reply

