Where Do You Get Ideas? (Day 5)

So I’ve had a few people ask me where I get my ideas from for vegan meals. If you knew me, you’d know that I’m no chef. I mean, I can cook. Toast. But even that’s not one of my strong points. So how is it that I’m able to make these great vegan dishes?

It’s easy. Really.

For me, it’s a change, but it’s really no different than the change I overcame when I became a vegetarian so many years ago. Well, okay, I was twelve then, so, my mom did most of my cooking, writing notes to friends required origami skills, and some of my best music was on CDs I starrowed from my older sister. To listen to on my discman. I guess a few things were different ;)

But, in 1996, even being a vegetarian was not easy. Google certainly was not readily available at our fingertips for meal plans. There were no devices with countless apps for tracking nutrition information. And most restaurants didn’t even carry a garden burger! Also, I was twelve.

Fast forward seventeen years to today, and you’ll realize just how much information is available to us, if we just put some effort into looking for it.

Need vegan recipe ideas? Pinterest!

Can’t find a certain ingredient at your local health food store? Amazon! Puritan’s Pride!

Looking for nutrition information? Google!
Just promise me you’ll stay away from Yahoo Answers ;)

But, back to vegan cooking. I spent a little time yesterday updating my “Links & Resources” page, to include  a link to what could possibly be the best introduction to vegan cooking that I’ve come across on the vast expanse of the internet. I was drooling and pinning recipes before I was even past the first paragraph. Check it out!

Today’s Meal Plan:

Breakfast~
1/2 Raw Protein Vegan Meal Powder with frozen banana
Whole Wheat Blueberry Bran Muffin!
Note: I reduced the molasses by half… it just looked like so much molasses! They tasted just fine with half. Also, like usual, I used stevia as a sweetener.

Lunch~
Fresh cauliflower and frozen green beans, sauteed in a little vegetable broth, served on a bed of raw chopped rainbow chard, with a side of raw beet slices. Yum!

Snack~
Whole Wheat Blueberry Bran Muffins… yes, a few more please!

Dinner~
Creamless Cream of Mushroom Soup minus the oils
“Taste Tests” of more homemade granola, for Christmas gifts :)

Leave a Reply

