Just Plain Good Food (Day 27)

Vegan food is awesome.

Yeah, I know that’s really stating the obvious! But, sometimes it’s good to state the obvious. This change has been so much less difficult than I thought it would be. In fact, it has really awakened a new passion: cooking!

I now absolutely love to cook.

Much of my cooking inspiration has come from Pinterest, which is still a great tool. But that being said, there’s still nothing like a good cookbook! A cookbook can be read and re-read; pages dog-eared to mark recipe pages I want to try; notes can be written about substitutions; and lastly, the pages with the best recipes will eventually become permanently creased into the spine and stained with some of the ingredients called for.

My first vegan cookbook arrived in the mail today: ‘Appetite for Reduction: 125 Fast & Filling Low-Fat Vegan Recipes’ by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.

photo-1

This awesome vegan chef is also author of my very favorite vegan food blog, the Post Punk Kitchen. I’m looking forward to also getting my hands on some of other other cookbooks too! Yes, I’ll admit, I totally have a crush on her recipes.

This cookbook will go with my cooking like… Adam’s natural chunky peanut butter with no added salt goes with fresh local berry jam with no added sweetener :P

I’ve already tried two recipes from the cookbook, and am really pleased with them. They seem to be paradoxes: creative and simple at the same time, filling and low calorie at the same time. But, like usual, I altered the recipes ever so slightly slightly to exclude any oils. My gall bladder will thank me.

Lunch was inspired by her Black Bean, Zucchini & Olive Tacos.

photo

Dinner was inspired by her Lentil & Eggplant Chile Mole.

<Error: Dinner photo can not be provided, as it was too delicious to not eat immediately>

* * *

Today’s Meal Plan:

Breakfast~
Raw Protein Vegan Meal Powder with Frozen Banana

Snack~
Organic Brown Rice Cake
Adam’s Chunky Peanut Butter (no salt added)

Lunch~
Three small whole wheat flax White Corn Tortillas, stuffed with Black Beans, Jalapeno, Zucchini, Garlic, Onion, Raw Kale, Fresh Salsa, and Tofutti Vegan Sour Cream

Dinner~
Lentil & Eggplant Chile Mole, topped with raw kale
Banana

Snack~
1/2 Chic-o-Stick
1 So Delicious Mini Almond Milk Ice Cream Sandwich

Today’s Fitness Plan:

50-minutes Water Aerobics
30-minutes Active Housework

How did today’s nutrients look?

I got about my usual 71 grams of protein today.
Great fiber, came in at 56 grams.
Maxed out Vitamin A (235%), Vitamin C (450%), and Iron (459%).
Came in just shy of what is recommended for Calcium and Potassium.
Sodium was alright, came in at 2011 mg.
Carbohydrates and sugars were just over
Cholesterol, as usual, was 0.

Calories In = 1572
Calories Out = 254
Net Calories = 1318

3 thoughts on “Just Plain Good Food (Day 27)

  1. Pingback: the cook(book)ing school: from my “healthy books to read in 2013″ list – vegan with a vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz | the cook(book)ing school

Leave a Reply

